beats per me

Born This Way: Don’t be a Drag, just be a Queen

My God, isn’t this pic just frikkin awesome? Think of it as a post Valentine gift from me <3.

I’m sure by now you’ve all heard Lady Gaga’s new single “Born this Way”, from her upcoming album which is probably the most anticipated album of 2011. I assure you, it will be dissected and critiqued ad nauseum, but that won’t stop me from adding my 2 cents.

So, does it work? Honestly, I got a bit bored the first 20 secs in. I read someone tweet “it already sounds like a tired David Guetta throwaway” and I found myself chuckling in agreement. I suspect “Born this Way” won’t age as gracefully as some of her other songs BUT I did feel the same way the first time I heard Paparazzi, so it still is early days.

Inevitably, when you’re as famous as Gaga, you will be compared to other singers. Remember the whole Christina Aguilera debacle? Yeah, I know Christina who? And there’s also the whole Grace Jones‘ outrageous style copied, blah, blah, let’s get back to the music. (Love you Grace Jones!) Obviously, the great queen Madge is the icon most pointed to. “Born This Way” is eerily evocative of Madonna’s “Express Yourself” + (insert whatever here) since its premiere. Not that this is necessarily tragic BUT if you’re going to hype your song as the new gay anthem (that could dethrone “I Will Survive“) then ehhh, it doesn’t quite work in that sense.

The message, on the other hand, does work. One of the reasons I loved Gaga is because she’s always been an outspoken advocate for gay rights. I wouldn’t say this is the ultimate gay anthem, more an anthem for all minorities. The lyrics are honest, she knows how to create a solid pop song with a big hook. Until the music video, or the next single drops, “Born This Way” will be played to death in clubs and will be belted out at gay pride parades throughout the year. Nichome anyone?

Lady Gaga – Born This Way (DrewG Brian Cua Dirty Pop Remix)

Lady Gaga – Born This Way to Feel The Music (DJ Tristan Jaxx You’re A Queen Mix)

What do you think? Any anthems you’d like me to post? Leave your comments below.

One response

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Born This Way: Don’t be a Drag, just be a Queen « JanKenBPM -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment